El Salvador ’16 | Intro

This trip came and went SO fast. I have obviously been wanting to go back ever since I returned home the last time and I thought about it almost daily. When the opportunity came up, I grabbed it as fast as I could. And I have to say, although I don’t have what you could call a “career”, it truly afforded me the ability to take a trip like this again. And I’m so thankful to be in this stage of life. It’s tempting to be disheartened that I’m not married or that I don’t have an impressive job. But because of this time in my life I can travel and find new ways to serve the Lord and it’s awesome! I’d much rather follow Him all around the world than to have the “typical” American life I thought I wanted. Thankfully, God knows better than me and I’m excited to see where He leads me.

I knew this trip was going to be different than last time. I remember the first time I went felt very introductory, very exploratory. And it didn’t feel like we actually did a lot, but it was so important because that’s when I met so many of our partners and saw the faces and really got to know what our church was doing. I saw what life was like there, I saw places we’re trying to invest and the pockets of people we hope to encourage and see God transform. And I loved it.

So as I started thinking about this trip, it felt different even before our first meeting. I wasn’t going to just be checking things out, we were returning and I knew I wanted to go and do things, and be pushed out of my comfort zone. And I really was. I spoke at a conference, I did the presentation of the chemical cross a couple of times, and I also got to give my testimony in front of a bunch of kids (where my mind when totally blank and I stared at them for about 30 seconds. More on that later). This trip was not at all about me of course, but I was happy that I could feel like I was contributing, which I’m not sure I felt before.

Guys I have to tell you. I was moved so many times and cried more than I planned. The need there is incredibly vast. And I know, there is need here too. And everywhere. But when I think about the kids we met, the prostitutes, the ex-gang members, the mothers of kids with disabilities, Claudia from Joni and Friends, it’s just massive. And yet, people from each of those categories can look at you and say “Your church helped me”. It’s amazing and humbling. That was one of my biggest takeaways. There are about 20,000 people who attend my church on a weekend and they’ll never meet the people their church is helping. They don’t even know people like Claudia and Reina and Mauricio exist! People who are so thankful that our church, from Vienna Virginia, is involved and making things happen! And I don’t want to be oblivious. I want to be a part of it! I want to be part of the change that’s going on. When we supply pastors with devotional material and Bibles they can’t get, or when we fund a gate for a church to protect it from gangs that threaten them, or we help in providing costs so people with disabilities can actually go meet people who can give them hope and care in a country that never considers them…it’s amazing to see. And I just keep asking myself, how can I possibly continue life as normal? How can I say, “I’m glad we helped, see you next year!”  I don’t think I can. It doesn’t seem biblical to me. I don’t want to think, “well, it’s fine to visit, but I certainly won’t actually live with them. I can enter into their lives for a time, but it would be too uncomfortable to do it for too long.”  That’s the thing guys, I can’t pursue comfort any more. What a waste. There are real people suffering and dying every day, and I’m probably the last person I expected to say something like that. But it’s true. And God over and over calls His people to action, calls us to give up our lives for Him in service and obedience. Seek justice, He tells us. Be compassionate. Have mercy. Care for marginalized and oppressed peoples. And not just when the opportunity comes up; I think He means for us to actively pursue and initiate these situations! And for too long I’ve been so busy worried about myself – what job to take and if my room in our townhouse is big enough, and I get bothered if there’s not enough ice in my drink or if I don’t have time to straighten my hair, on and on it goes.

I don’t want to be that person any more. I want to be in the tough places, the dark places. And this trip really showed me that.

CFP_0876.jpg

Also, I made this video yesterday and I’m a little obsessed with it. Since this is the intro post, I’ll include it here so you can see snapshots of all the things I’ll talk about later!

El Salvador – Aug 2016 from Currie FitzHugh on Vimeo.

Leave a comment